Friday, May 6, 2016

Consciousness Removal Project - Tides of Blood Part II

Tides of Blood Pt. 2 cover art

Well executed post metal by one man project of Antti Loponen of Finland. Measured, graceful songs that capture the atmosphere of evening. One step further and you're into the abyss, one step back and you're in the glaring sunlight of oppression. Album ends strong with the doom riffs of Dark Horizon giving way to resolution.



1 (peace)
2 Z
3 Valediction of a Victim
4 (understanding)
5 Dark Horizon

Release Date: May 2nd 2016

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Virgil Shepp - Hey Nah!

Hey Nah! cover art

Virgil Shepp is an independent hip hop artist from Detroit and this full length album is crammed with laid back, jazzy explorations. The whole thing has an intimate, feel good vibe about it and a pop sensibility that is infectious. Quality stuff!


1 Mr. Cricket/ Mr. Grasshop
2 Junk Train
3 Hustle Love feat. Butta Max
4 Belle Isle/ Belle Easy
5 For the Riders instr.
6 The Ave. prod. by J.U.S.
7 No 2nd Trumpet
8 Back Door!
9 Up in the Rafters
10 On 7 instr.
11Feet Bac on the Ground
12 Hard Head Stallion
13 3:45 PM instr.
14 Like a Coyote Speakin Apache
15 U Don't Know What Love Is
16 Zephyr

Website: Bandcamp

Label: Independent

Release Date: Dec 26th, 2013

Saturday, September 7, 2013

M.S.W. - Cloud : Musica Pro Lapsu

CLOUD cover art

Cloud is the latest cassette release from M.S.W. of Salem, Oregon. This differs from his other project Hell as it has no sludgy doom riffs but it is heavy in it's own right. The two neo-classical piano tracks are at times contemplative, warm, beautiful and ominous and it is very easy to let yourself be swallowed up by the sound. A healing salve for psychic wounds.


1 Musica Pro Lapsu
2 Musica ad Frigore Hiemes


Label: Eternal Warfare

Release Date: June 26th 2013

MSW - Musica Pro Lapsu

Friday, September 6, 2013

Saor - Roots

Saor, formerly known as Arsaidh is the latest project from Scotland's Andy Marshall and it is a sweeping release of atmospheric, epic, celtic metal replete with melancholy and post black metal influences. The album flows nicely with three lengthy tracks and a short interlude that are able to paint a picture of a Scottish countryside filled with sorrow. One of the better releases so far this year.


1 Roots
2 Carved in Stone
3 Saorsa
4 A Highland Lament


Label: Big Cartel

Release Date: April 16th 2013

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Clara Engel - I Keep On Trying

I Keep On Trying is the latest single release from Clara Engel and it is absorbing in it's sad beauty. This is music that speaks to my soul; the poetry, the chords, the bass and cello of Kyle Johnston and Tilman Lewis. It's dark and acoustic and angry and hopeless and absolutely amazing. The raw emotion that emanates from these songs blows me away but I'm used to that from Clara. I love this release and I want more.

Tracklist :

1 I Keep on Trying
2 How Fast My Tears Float Away

Website :

Release Date : March 14th, 2013

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Bevar Sea - s/t

From Bangalore, India comes Bevar Sea, a five piece stoner doom band blasting massive riffs, melodic leads, rock solid rhythm section and powerful vocals that instantly bring to mind Lee Dorrian. This debut release will fit nicely in the collection between Sleep and Cathedral, these guys have got the groove and they rock it hard. This is an impressive outing and for fans of the genre this should not be missed.


1 The Smiler
2 Abishtu
3 Universal Sleeper
4 Mono Gnome


Label: Independent

Release date: 2012

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Koldscov - Demo

Koldscov is Richard Carr from Pensacola, Florida and I found this demo by chance while surfing Youtube. His influences read like a list of my favourite bands including Agalloch, Alcest and Wolves in the Throne Room so I was very interested in hearing this. I am so glad that I did as a release like this is why I spend endless hours clicking link after link in the hopes of finding something that I've never heard before that speaks to me and this most certainly does. From the acoustic opening that sets the album in enchanted forest to the depressive black metal that is woven throughout, this album is solid. At 26 minutes it's not long but it is complete.


1 The End of Light
2 Buried Under the Frozen Mountain
3 Awakening the Frost Giant
4 Beset by Storm
5 She Floats Away into the Arms of Nothing
6 The Thaw of Memory

Label: Independent
Release Date: January 2013


Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Christoph Berg - Paraphrases

Berlin based Christoph Berg composes chamber music and plays all instruments on this stunning debut. The strings, piano and occasional field recording or electronics seem to transcend simple auditory stimulation and engage the listener on an emotional level. This is the sound of dusk, of forlorn longing in the creeping shadows of existence. In a word, brilliant.


1 Falling asleep
2 Elegy
3 Poems written for an old (prepared piano)
4 Buildings at night
5 Interlude
6 Paraphrases (on vinyl)
7 A small path crossing
8 Quiet times at the library
9 Interlude (remixed by aus)
10 Falling asleep (remixed by P Jorgenson)


Label: Fluid Audio

Release date: November 2012

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

From the Sunset, Forest and Grief - ...Empty, Cold & Forgotten...

I may be late to hear this album as it came out nearly three years ago but upon first listen I was memerised by it's depressive beauty. Sole member Daniel Covarrubias from Tampico, Mexico has created a well balanced DSBM release that mixes acoustic and distorted guitars with melancholic keyboards and the agonised vocals that are a staple of the genre. The playing and production are impressive and I eagerly await future works from Daniel.


1 Intro
2 Broken Lights
3 ...Empty, Cold & Forgotten...
4 Lifeless
5 My (Suicide) Path
6 From the Sunset, Forest and Grief


Label: Naturmacht Productions

Release Date: November 25th, 2009